‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 
To view this email as a web page, go here.


2016 November Newsletter

 

 

 

 

Inside this issue:

 

2017 Conference

 

Legislative Update

 

Industry News

 

Advertise

 

Upcoming Events

  

Allied Member Directory

 





AZPPO is excited to announce our Keynote Speakers will be Dr. Dini Miller and Paul Bello! We are working on other fantastic speakers to round out the 2-day educational conference.


We have submitted and are currently awaiting continuing education course approvals from the states of AZ, NM, CA, NV, UT.


Vendor and Sponsor Registrations are now open.


Educational class registration will open soon.


Save the date and look for more information to come on our website  http://azppo.org/Conference 

 

AZPPO Legislative Update


It has been a busy summer for the members of the AZPPO Legislative Committee. Over the last several months the committee has worked to draft the Arizona Department of Agriculture, Pest Management Division(PMD formerlly OPM) new rules that were needed as a result of SB1270 – Pest Management Division.


SB1270 Sponsored by Senator Gail Griffin finalized the move of OPM into the Dept of Agriculture by moving all the statutes to title 3 (from Title 32). In addition to the technical changes needed the committee identified a few rules that needed to be updated, clarified and modernized. The committee encourages you to review the rules that are now available for public comment HERE.


The legislative committee is still working with the PMD to clarify that home inspectors can only document suspected pest activity as opposed to documenting evidence of wood destroying organisms. We are working to clarify when a person is exempt from licensure as long as they do not identify pests, do not apply pesticides and use only devices that are specified in rules as being exempt. Finally we are working to clarify that ground water reporting is required only for soil=applied herbicide and that the licensee only needs to report the concentrated amount applied not the total volume applied. The committee is currently awaiting a response from PMD on these last proposed changes.


The committee is also looking forward to the next legislative session which will start on Monday January 9, 2017. AZPPO is anticipating proactively supporting a bill sponsored by Senator Gail Griffin to expand the existing state preemption of cities, towns, counties and other political subdivisions of the state from further regulations of pesticides. Recently a couple of cities have considered banning certain pesticides within their municipal boundaries. While the ban was approved by the Council it is certainly caused significant concern for our members. The bill will also include a provision requiring all new QP’s to complete a Department of Public Safety (DPS) fingerprint clearance. As you will recall when OPM moved into the Department of Agriculture the DPS fingerprint clearance for licensees was eliminated.


Finally be sure to save the date for the first ever AZPPO day at the Capitol on Thursday March 16, 2017. Members will be meeting at the Capitol at 8:00 am and will provide a grab and go breakfast of bagels and coffee to the legislators. Hope you can join us! 


Thanks!

 

Thanksgiving Food Drive:

 


Top Golf Sponsors:

APG/Catchmaster - Arizona Spray Equipment - BASF -Bayer Bell Laboratories - Briostack - B&G - Control Solutions, Inc - DOW - Farmers Insurance/Mike Herrmann Agency - FMC - Green Gorilla - J T Eaton - Liphatech - Metro Institute - MGK - Nisus - Paragon - PestWest Environmental - Sands Chevrolet - Syngenta - Target Specialty Products - Turf & Pest Supply - Univar

 


Industry News

Breaking - Overtime Rule Alert


Last week, the U.S. District Court in the Eastern District of Texas granted a nationwide preliminary injunction from the implementation of the Department of Labor’s final overtime rule that was scheduled to go into effect on December 1, 2016 and would raise the minimum overtime eligibility threshold to $47,476, annually. The preliminary junction was sought by two groups of plaintiffs that consist of 21 states and a combination of industry groups lead by the U.S. Chamber of Commerce and National Federation of Independent Businesses.


REUTERS: JUDGE BLOCKS OBAMA RULE EXTENDING OVERTIME PAY TO 4.2 MILLION U.S. WORKERS


The Court determined that implementation of the final rule on December 1, 2016 would cause irreparable harm to businesses nationwide while agreeing with the plaintiffs that the Department of Labor exceeded their statutory authority pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act. It is important to note that this court ruling is limited to a delay of implementation of the final rule until a federal court can make a final determination on the merits of the case, which should be several month away.


Because a preliminary injunction is not a final ruling there are limited options for the Department of Labor to appeal this decision and a very short window of time prior to the December 1, 2016 implementation date. So far, we have not learned of any statement or appeal by DOL. NPMA is monitoring - based on the ruling, they anticipate the overtime rule will NOT be implemented as expected on December 1, 2016.  We will let you know if we hear more.


Advertise in our Newsletter

We have various options for advertising.  See our rate card HERE


  

 


Upcoming Events


Click on a date below for more information

 

December 12 - Certification Training 

 

December 14 - Certification Training - CORE and I&IAZPPO Board Meeting

 

January 11 - AZPPO Board Meeting

 

January 12 - AZPPO Monthly Membership Meeting

 

March 16 - AZPPO Day at the Capitol

 

March 28-30 - Great Western Conference & Trade Show

 

May 26 -  Bugs N Balls Golf Tournament

 

See our website for more information www.azzpo.org


Allied Member Directory

The following companies provide support to the industry and are members of AZPPO. 

 

Affordable GPS Tracking Victor Krstec: 623-328-8906 victor@agps1.com

 

Allergy Technologies Patty Maslowski: 215-654-0880; service@allergytechnologies.com

 

All Risks Pam Brunges: 800-366-5810 x3610 pbrunges@allrisks.com 

 

AP&G Scott Baldwin 480-760-5874 sbaldwin@catchmasterpro.com


Arizona Spray Equipment 
Samuel Andrus: 623-847-5604; critter@azspray

 

B&G Equipment Company John Cotton: 714-319-4422; jcotton@bgeuip.com

 

BASF Pest Control Solutions Ronnie Holder: 713-294-7628; ronald.holder@basf.com

Bayer Environmental Eric Paysen: 602-245-3659; eric.paysen@bayer.com

Bell Laboratories, Inc. Patrick Lynch: plynch@belllabs.com
 

BrioStack Software DerrickWalker: 801-616-6182 dwalker@shortstack.me

 

Business Broker T.J. Hammer T.J. Hammer: 480-540-5005; Tjhammers@aol.com

 

Central Life Sciences Blaine Oakeson: 801-731-8210 boakeson@central.com

 

Chemtech Supply, Inc. Jack McClure: 480-833-7578; jack@chemtechsupply.com

 

Control Solutions Inc  Rob Ives: 713-203-4058; rives@controlsolutionsinc.com     

 

Diversified Sales & Marketing Larry Hiner: 918-695-6742 lhiner@divsales.com

 

Dow AgroSciences Les Johnson: 480-759-9120; lljohnson2@dow.com

 

Fleetmatics  David Stevens: 847-378-7393 david.stevens@fleetmatics.com

 

FMC Professional Solutions Alea Pedroza: 714-833-1911 alea.pedroza@fmc.com

Gervase Law Firm, PLLC Lisa Gervase: 480-515-4801; lgervase@gervaselaw.com

 

HR Wise Greg O'Keefe: 480-636-2109 payroll@hrwisellc.com

 

J.T. Eaton Co., Inc. James Rodriguez: 800-321-3421; james@jteaton.com

 

LiphaTech Joshua Joyce: 714-262-0355: joycej@liphatech.com  

 

Marathon Data Systems Danielle Panichi events@marathondata.com

 

Mattress Safe Gary Brooks gary@mattresssafe.com

 

Metro Institute Michael Means: 602-452-2901; mike@metroinstitute.com

 

MGK Matt Kenney: 559.232.8696; matt.kenney@mgk.com

 

Michael S. Herrmann Insurance Agency, Inc. Mike Herrmann: 480-731-6600; mike@mikeherrmann.net

 

Mobile Training Solutions Linda Harrington 520-419-9575 linda@mobiletrainingsolutions.net

 

Modern Methods Art Guzman guzzer60@gmail.com

 

Nature-Cide Gregory Pettis: 818-885-9874 nish@pac-sh.com

 

Pestmaster Services Jeff Van Diepen: 775-858-7378 jlechler@pestmaster.com

 

PestRoutes Jared Green 435-817-1770 jared@pestroutes.com

 

Quality Equipment & Spray Andrew Greess: 602-371-1993; andrew@qspray.com
 

Residex Ada Wilson: 480-322-2211 awilson@residex.com

 

Service Pro.net Randy Hames: 614-553-0227 randy@servsuite.net

 

Slingshot Chris Huntsman: 801-203-4643 chris@getslingshot.com

 

Syngenta Professional Nick Grisafe: 909-353-5907; nick.grisafe@syngenta.com

 

Target Specialty Products Kurt Smith: 480-517-0755; kurt.smith@target-specialty.com
Salena Rafferty: salena.rafferty@target-specialty.com, Ruth Leo: ruth.leo@target-specialty.com

 

The Mahoney Group Joe Steiner: 480-214-2746 jsteiner@mahoneygroup.com

 

Turf & Pest Supply David Crandell: 602-369-6137 dave@turfandpest.com

 

Univar USA Inc. Ed Conboy: 520-747-8717; Ed.Conboy@univarusa.com Christy Davie: 480-894-5323; christy.davie@univarusa.com  Jackie Bell: 602-233-2440 jackie.bell@univarusa.com

 

Weisburger Insurance Brokerage Gary Shapiro: 800-431-2794; info@weisburger.com


AzPPO PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002  |  azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com  | 602-712-1121 #4

This email was sent to: azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com

This email was sent by:
Arizona Pest Professional Organization
PO Box 13116
Phoenix, Arizona 85002

Guaranteed Unsubscribe if you would like not to receive future emails from Arizona Pest Professional Organization.

Report as Spam if this email has been sent to you without your permission.

Logo