‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 
To view this email as a web page, go here.


2015 February Newsletter

 



Inside this issue:

Legislative Update


Industry News

 

Allied Member Spotlight

 

2015 Conference

 

Member Benefits

 

Upcoming Events

Allied Member Directory

 

Dear Pest Control Industry Professionals,


Are you taking full advantage of membership benefits? AZPPO and NPMA provide numerous opportunities for you to save money and improve your business. Read more here.


The Great Western Conference committee has some exciting things planned for our March 29-31 event. Don't wait to register. Space is limited for the Trade Show as well as the Owner/Manager networking event. You won't want to miss out.  You can find more information on our website HERE.


Be sure to check out the schedule of Upcoming Events below, both locally and at the national level.


Don't miss our new monthly feature below to spotlight our Allied members. These providers support our association and we hope you will support them with your business.


AZPPO continues to stay engaged with happenings at the state capitol. Our Legislative committee and Arizona lobbyist are working hard to represent our interests - see the Weekly Report below.


Finally, please support your Legislative Committee!  We accept contributions in any amount (no such thing as too small) and every bit helps. Send your contributions to: AZPPO Industry Defense Fund, PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002

 

AzPPO the Voice of Industry


Legislative Update


Last week was a critical week for the legislative process as it was the last week for bills to be heard in Committees (with the exception of Appropriations and Rules) in its chamber of origin. For bills not heard in committee, it usually means that the legislation will not progress further in the process…sort of. No bill is ever officially dead until the legislature adjourns since any member can simply amend the measure onto an active bill somewhere else in the process.


Such an amendment often times takes the form of a “strike everything” amendment or simply a “striker” in which a legislator can essentially delete the entire text of an existing bill and substitute new language. These amendments are sometimes used to allow legislators to circumvent deadlines (i.e. this week’s committee deadline) or revive a bill that has been previously defeated.


Since HB2465, pesticide prohibition; neonicotinoids, the bill that would ban the sale and use of Clothianidin, Midacloprid, and Thiametoxam in Arizona, did not receive a committee hearing this week it is, practically speaking, dead.


On Wednesday SB1078 Office of Pest Management passed out of the Senate 29-0-1 (one member not voting). The bill has been assigned to the House Agriculture, Water and Lands Committee on Thursday February 26th. I will be meeting with Rep. Brenda Barton, the committee chair, as well as the other committee members to discuss the bill.


HB2181 schools; omnibus statutory repeals, the bill that eliminates the notification requirements to employees and students prior to pesticide applications passed out of the House 54-4-3. The bill has been assigned to the House Education Committee. We have reached out to the proponents of the bill and we have indicated that we may have some concerns with eliminating the notification requirements. We have been told that the provision was included because of the cost burden associated with the notification. We will continue to monitor and engage in the bill as necessary. Late last week, we sent the bill's language to AZPPO's legislative committee for comment, and we have not yet heard any concerns from the committee members. If there are any concerns with the language to repeal the written notification to parents and school employees when school is in session, please let us know.


Let me know if you have any questions.


Regards,

Courtney Gilstrap LeVinus

Capitol Consulting, LLC

Courtney@azcapitolconsulting.com 

 

 

AZPPO Hot List

 

The Hot List includes all legislative bills and proposals that may have a direct impact on the industry. Click Here to view the AZPPO Hot List.



Industry News

 

FAA Proposes Rules for the Commercial Use of Drones

The Federal Aviation Administration recently proposed rulemaking that could clear the way for pest management professionals and other business enterprises to use drones or unmanned aerial systems commercially. Under the proposal, operators would need to pass a written proficiency test, register the drone and pay about $200 in fees — but would not have to obtain a regular pilot’s license or demonstrate their flying skills. Click here to read a Washington Post article about the rulemaking.

 

Don't Miss 2015 Legislative Day

March 15-17
Capitol Hilton
Washington D.C.
Register HERE


Upcoming Industry Observances

• Termite Awareness Week: March 15-21

• National Pest Management Month: April

• Bed Bug Awareness Week: June 7-14

• Rodent Awareness Week: November 15-21

 

 

NPMA Creates New Veterans Group

In an effort to not only honor the personal sacrifice veterans have made to preserving our freedom, but also provide NPMA members with access to a remarkable pool of talent, NPMA created a new Veterans Group. The mission of this group is to actively promote the recruitment of veterans and support those recruitment efforts through various education and training opportunities and provide mentoring and support for veterans currently employed in the industry. An organizational meeting of the Veterans Group will be held during NPMA’s Legislative Day on Monday, March 16 from 7 - 8:30 a.m. in Washington, DC. "The meeting is open to anybody in the industry and is designed as a brainstorming meeting to imagine how the effort will be organized, identifying several achievable objectives and an action plan to get there," said NPMA CEO Bob Rosenberg. "Additionally, the Legislative Day keynote speaker, General Stanley McChrystal, has agreed to spend some time with our veterans group." To sign up for the organizational meeting and to meet with General McChrystal, please visit,
http://www.surveygizmo.com/s3/1952096/Veterans-in-Pest-Management


Allied Member Spotlight

 




Trade Show Vendors Note - $150 discount for booth registration is available through March 6th.

Information and registration HERE.

 


Membership Benefits Spotlight

Human Resource Consulting Service

Have a human resources problem? Question? Crisis? Do you simply need to brainstorm a problem or a particular employee situation? NPMA members can now call, email or text Seay Management Consultants to speak with one of their HR consultants free of charge regarding any employment issue that arises in your business. The comprehensive menu of services provided can be found here.

 

Earnhardt Fleet Discounts

Many of our AZPPO members have saved thousands of dollars on purchases of fleet vehicles through this benefit. Login to our website and visit the Members Only section for more information.

 

Find A Pro Services

Make sure potential customers can find your business. This locator service provided for Quality Pro Certified joint members by NPMA adds your company to a database searchable by zip code.  Click HERE for more information on all Quality Pro tools.


Upcoming Events

 

March 11 AZPPO Board Meeting

 

March 15-17 Legislative Day INFO


March 29-31 AZPPO Great Western Conference & Trade Show Registration information HERE.

 

April 8 AZPPO Board Meeting

 

April 9  AZPPO Monthly Membership Meeting Phoenix INFO


May 13
AZPPO Board Meeting

 

May 14  AZPPO Monthly Membership Meeting Tucson INFO

May 29th 3rd Annual Bugs 'N Balls Golf Tournament, benefiting the Industry Defense Fund  INFO


October 20-23 Pestworld Nashville


Allied Member Directory

The following companies provide support to the industry and are members of AZPPO. 

 

Affordable GPS Tracking Victor Krstec: 623-328-8906; victor@agps1.com

Allergry Technologies Joseph Latino: 215-654-0880; service@allergytechnologies.com


AP& G Jackie Bell: 480-760-5874; jbell@catchmasterpro.com


Arizona Spray Equipment Samuel Andrus: 623-842-4000; sandurs@azspray.com

 

B&G Equipment Company John Cotton: 714-319-4422; jcotton@bgeuip.com

 

BASF Pest Control Solutions Ronnie Holder: 713-294-7628; ronald.holder@basf.com

Bayer Environmental Dave Braness: 408-205-8917; david.braness@bayer.com

Bell Laboratories, Inc. Jeremy Davis: 574-361-5058; jdavis@belllabs.com

Business Broker T.J. Hammer T.J. Hammer: 480-540-5005; Tjhammers@aol.com

 

Chemtech Supplies, Inc. Jack McClure: 480-833-7578; jack@chemtechsupply.com

Control Solutions, Inc. (CSI) Rob Ives: 713-203-4058; rives@ControlSolutions.com Allison Muggli: 281-892-2500; amuggli@controlsolutionsinc.com

CrimShield, Inc. Dave Pickron: 888-422-2547; dave@crimsheild.com Scot Aubrey: 888-422-2547; scot@crimshield.com

 

Dow AgroSciences Les Johnson: 480-759-9120; lljohnson2@dow.com

Earnhardt Auto Group Jim McGuire: 480-763-6133; jmac@earnhardt.com

Fleetmatics Chris Daywalt: 623-241-9531; chris.daywalt@fleetmatics.com

FMC Professional Solutions David Torska: 480-330-0383 ; david.torska@fmc.com Dean Johnson: 951-595-5829; dean.k.johnson@fmc.com

Gervase Law Firm, PLLC Lisa Gervase: 480-515-4801; lgervase@gervaselaw.com

Helena Chemical Rob Deacon: 602-278-0143; deaconr@helenachemical.com

J.T. Eaton Co., Inc. James Rodriguez: 800-321-3421; james@jteaton.com

Leavitt Group/Farmer Woods Group Insurance Scott Fanning: 607-677-1166; scott-fanning@leavitt.com


Metro Institute Michael Means: 602-452-2901; mike@metroinstitute.com


MGK Matt Kenney: 800-352-5548; matt.kenney@mgk.com

Michael S. Herrmann Insurance Agency, Inc. Mike Herrmann: 480-731-6600; mike@mikeherrmann.net

PestWest Environmental Scott Baldwin : 480-747-2688; info@pestwest.com

Quality Equipment & Spray Andrew Greess: 602-371-1993; andrew@qspray.com

Syngenta Professional Nick Grisafe: 909-353-5907; nick.grisafe@syngenta.com

Target Specialty Products Kurt Smith: 480-517-0755; kurt.smith@target-specialty.com
Salena Rafferty: salena.rafferty@target-specialty.com, Ruth Leo: ruth.leo@target-specialty.com


Turf & Pest Supplies Dave Crandell: 602-369-6137; dgcrandell@yahoo.com

Univar USA Inc. Ed Conboy: 520-747-8717; Ed.Conboy@univarusa.com Christy Davie: 480-894-5323; christy.davie@univarusa.com  Carlos Montejano: 602-3174-1187; Carlos.Montejano@univarusa.com

 

Weisburger Insurance Brokerage Gary Shapiro: 800-431-2794; info@weisburger.com

 


AzPPO PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002  |  azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com  | 602-343-6277

This email was sent to: tracy@azcapitolconsulting.com

This email was sent by:
Arizona Pest Professional Organization
PO Box 13116
Phoenix, Arizona 85002

Guaranteed Unsubscribe if you would like not to receive future emails from Arizona Pest Professional Organization.

Report as Spam if this email has been sent to you without your permission.

Logo