‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 
To view this email as a web page, go here.


2015 March Newsletter

 

 

 

Inside this issue:

PMAC Update


Industry News

Upcoming Events

Allied Member Directory

 

Dear Pest Control Industry Professionals,

 

We previously reported new rules went into affect recently, and your AZPPO supported this effort. Big result for you - your rates are going down! Read about this and more in the PMAC report below.

The Great Western Conference is just a few days away. Not only do you have an opportunity to earn 6 or 12 hours of CE's, you will hear national speakers you won't find elsewhere in the state. Don't miss out. Prices increase on Wednesday, and online registration closes on Friday so hurry and register HERE.

 

Be sure to check out the schedule of Upcoming Events below, both locally and at the national level. Next up after conference is our monthly membership meeting on April 9th at Macayo's in downtown Phoenix.

 

Finally, please support your Legislative Committee!  We accept contributions in any amount (no such thing as too small) and every bit helps. Send your contributions to: AZPPO Industry Defense Fund, PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002

 

AzPPO the Voice of Industry


PMAC News

AZPPO participates in the PMAC committee. The most recent meeting took place on Thursday March 19th, 2015. The following items were discussed:

1) Fees are going down for renewal. Thats right....down. PMAC worked with OPM/AZDA and it is netting you money back into your pocket.  Look for your renewal notices to hit your mailbox first week in April as they will begin mailing from OPM March 30th.

2) AZDA/OPM is working on a state pollinator protection program and stake holders will be included to include the pest management industry. This is an important issue as the President's commission on Pollinator Health has been floating the idea of forcing label changes to include the language ( apply according to your state's pollinator protection program). If that happens and we don't have a state pollinator protection program in place we could lose the access to a number of products until one is in place. We would like to thank Jack Peterson and others at AZDA/OPM for being on top of this issue.

3) The AZDA Director spoke about application records and "how specific is specific enough" when recording your application. His answer was this....if you treat a kitchen of a house....say that! Do not record that you treated "the house." If you do then you are liable for the whole house! Seems silly, but these are things that cost companies money and it apparently happens enough that he thought it was important to bring up.

4) He also spoke about offering electronic records to your customers. If you are offering electronic billing you need to make sure that your customers have actually approved that via a signed form. This way, if anyone complains to OPM you can prove that it was an agreed upon method of information delivery.

5) OPM is also going to begin taking a stronger line with companies who don't meet their insurance requirements on time. It is vital that all members of the industry get their renewal processed and provide proof of insurance to OPM prior to their current policy's expiration date.

6) How does OPM decide who gets their business audited? The answer came from Vince Craig. He said things like having employees that are past 90 days and still not registered will cause them to look closer at your business for other infractions. When these new laws went into effect in Sept 2013 they gave a whole year before they started enforcing the new laws. They are now expecting everyone to be in the know. Register your people today to avoid any issues!

7) New exams are continuing to be developed by PMAC for each of the catagories. Its a year long endeavor. The time all of us are putting into this project is a testament to the care each of us have for our industry.

PMAC meets regularly and our next meeting is tenatively set for June 18th, 2015 at 10:am at Az Dept of Agriculture. All are welcome to attend as it is a public meeting.


Industry News

 

NPMA Board of Directors Approves Pollinator BMPs

The National Pest Management Association’s (NPMA) Board of Directors approved a set of Best Management Practices (BMPs) designed to provide recommendations to encourage practices that promote the health of honey bees and other pollinators and minimize their exposure to pesticides around structures. Although we know that structural pest management application patterns generally do not pose risks to pollinators, by incorporating BMPs into service protocols, pest management professionals are being proactive in their approach to pollinator protection. Attached is a copy of the approved Pollinator BMPs. the National Pest Management Association’s (NPMA) Board of Directors approved a set of Best Management Practices (BMPs) designed to provide recommendations to encourage practices that promote the health of honey bees and other pollinators and minimize their exposure to pesticides around structures. Although we know that structural pest management application patterns generally do not pose risks to pollinators, by incorporating BMPs into service protocols, pest management professionals are being proactive in their approach to pollinator protection. To read the BMP, click HERE.

 

Member Only Pollinator Micro-Site Unveiled Member Only Pollinator Micro-Site Unveiled

NPMA released a new pollinator micro-site dedicated to providing resources, information and breaking news to all member companies. The new site, www.pollinatorfacts.org now offers:
• Downloadable consumer information pieces along with the pollinator health logo that can be posted on your website
• Copies of the industry BMPs and an engagement plan on best ways to promote the BMPs to your state regulatory officials to assist with the development of state pollinator protection plans
• A local neonic playbook that provides talking points, ways to identify and engage your city council members, sample letters to the editor and more.
• Links to AAPCO, SFIREG and ASPCRO guidance documents, pollinator news stories and more.

 

Study Downplays Neonicotinoid Pesticide Link to Bee Die-Off

Click here to read an article from NBC News about a recently released study on neonics. Additionally, click here to view a well-rounded article from Wired Magazine.


Upcoming Events

 

 

March 29-31 AZPPO Great Western Conference & Trade Show Registration information HERE

 

April 8 AZPPO Board Meeting

 

April 9  AZPPO Monthly Membership Meeting Phoenix INFO


May 13
AZPPO Board Meeting

 

May 14  AZPPO Monthly Membership Meeting Tucson INFO

May 29th 3rd Annual Bugs 'N Balls Golf Tournament, benefiting the Industry Defense Fund  INFO

 

October 20-23 Pestworld Nashville


Allied Member Directory

The following companies provide support to the industry and are members of AZPPO. 

 

Affordable GPS Tracking Victor Krstec: 623-328-8906; victor@agps1.com

Allergry Technologies Joseph Latino: 215-654-0880; service@allergytechnologies.com


AP& G Jackie Bell: 480-760-5874; jbell@catchmasterpro.com


Arizona Spray Equipment Samuel Andrus: 623-842-4000; sandurs@azspray.com

 

B&G Equipment Company John Cotton: 714-319-4422; jcotton@bgeuip.com

 

BASF Pest Control Solutions Ronnie Holder: 713-294-7628; ronald.holder@basf.com

Bayer Environmental Dave Braness: 408-205-8917; david.braness@bayer.com

Bell Laboratories, Inc. Jeremy Davis: 574-361-5058; jdavis@belllabs.com

Business Broker T.J. Hammer T.J. Hammer: 480-540-5005; Tjhammers@aol.com

 

Chemtech Supplies, Inc. Jack McClure: 480-833-7578; jack@chemtechsupply.com

Control Solutions, Inc. (CSI) Rob Ives: 713-203-4058; rives@ControlSolutions.com Allison Muggli: 281-892-2500; amuggli@controlsolutionsinc.com

CrimShield, Inc. Dave Pickron: 888-422-2547; dave@crimsheild.com Scot Aubrey: 888-422-2547; scot@crimshield.com

 

Dow AgroSciences Les Johnson: 480-759-9120; lljohnson2@dow.com

Earnhardt Auto Group Jim McGuire: 480-763-6133; jmac@earnhardt.com

Fleetmatics Chris Daywalt: 623-241-9531; chris.daywalt@fleetmatics.com

FMC Professional Solutions David Torska: 480-330-0383 ; david.torska@fmc.com Dean Johnson: 951-595-5829; dean.k.johnson@fmc.com

Gervase Law Firm, PLLC Lisa Gervase: 480-515-4801; lgervase@gervaselaw.com

Helena Chemical Rob Deacon: 602-278-0143; deaconr@helenachemical.com

J.T. Eaton Co., Inc. James Rodriguez: 800-321-3421; james@jteaton.com

Leavitt Group/Farmer Woods Group Insurance Scott Fanning: 607-677-1166; scott-fanning@leavitt.com


Metro Institute Michael Means: 602-452-2901; mike@metroinstitute.com


MGK Matt Kenney: 800-352-5548; matt.kenney@mgk.com

Michael S. Herrmann Insurance Agency, Inc. Mike Herrmann: 480-731-6600; mike@mikeherrmann.net

PestWest Environmental Scott Baldwin : 480-747-2688; info@pestwest.com

Quality Equipment & Spray Andrew Greess: 602-371-1993; andrew@qspray.com

Syngenta Professional Nick Grisafe: 909-353-5907; nick.grisafe@syngenta.com

Target Specialty Products Kurt Smith: 480-517-0755; kurt.smith@target-specialty.com
Salena Rafferty: salena.rafferty@target-specialty.com, Ruth Leo: ruth.leo@target-specialty.com


Turf & Pest Supplies Dave Crandell: 602-369-6137; dgcrandell@yahoo.com

Univar USA Inc. Ed Conboy: 520-747-8717; Ed.Conboy@univarusa.com Christy Davie: 480-894-5323; christy.davie@univarusa.com  Carlos Montejano: 602-3174-1187; Carlos.Montejano@univarusa.com

 

Weisburger Insurance Brokerage Gary Shapiro: 800-431-2794; info@weisburger.com

 


AzPPO PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002  |  azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com  | 602-343-6277

This email was sent to: tracy@azcapitolconsulting.com

This email was sent by:
Arizona Pest Professional Organization
PO Box 13116
Phoenix, Arizona 85002

Guaranteed Unsubscribe if you would like not to receive future emails from Arizona Pest Professional Organization.

Report as Spam if this email has been sent to you without your permission.

Logo