‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 
To view this email as a web page, go here.


2016 June Newsletter

 

 

 

 

Inside this issue:

 

2017 Conference

 

Industry News

 

Upcoming Events

  

Allied Member Directory

 

Welcome 

The 2015-2016 Membership Year has come to a close. AZPPO accomplished many things during the past year. Here are a few highlights:

  • Worked on legislation to improve the industry
  • Worked on fostering a positive working relationship with the Department of Agriculture/Office of Pest Managent
  • Stayed on top of issues important to the industry
  • Great Western Conference and Trade Show success
  • 4th Annual Bugs 'N Balls Golf tournament to fund the Industry Defense
  • Pest Professionals Who Care Bowling Event raised $170 for the Jack Root Scholarship Fund and $1565 for Ronald McDonald House
  • Continued to see growth in our membership
  • Conducted a total of 14 monthly membership meetings in Tucson and Phoenix
  • Coordinated 38 Certification Training Classes for a total of 81 students

 

We cannot do any of this without the support of our members and sponsors. Thanks!

 

We would also like to thank outgoing 2015-2016 Board members: 

President - Curtis Whalen

President Elect - Tim Goeringer

Treasurer - Chris Gillies

Secretary - Terry Pearce

Past President - Kevin Etheridge
Directors at Large - Ken Fredrick, Kent Sexton, Bob Wagner

Allied Representative - Ruth Leo

 

We will recognize them and induct the following 2016-2017 Board at our annual meeting on July 14th:

President - Tim Goeringer 

President Elect -  Chris Gillies

Treasurer - Stuart Keenan

Secretary - Keith Whitted

Past President - Curtis Whalen
Directors at Large - Coby Cahoon, Michelle LeDune, Ken Fredrick

Allied Representative - Jackie Bell 

 

If you haven't already, be sure to renew your membership. Dues expire today, June 30th. 

 




AZPPO is excited to announce our Keynote Speakers will be Dr. Dini Miller and Paul Bello! We are working on other fantastic speakers to round out the 2-day educational conference.

 

Vendor and Sponsor Registrations are now open. Educational class registration will open soon. Save the date and look for more information to come on our website http://azppo.org/Conference 

 

Industry News

Zika Update

 

Breaking News: Senate Democrats Block Emergency Zika Funding Bill

 

Earlier this week, Senate Democrats blocked a Republican-backed emergency Zika funding bill that was passed by the U.S. House of Representatives early Thursday morning. The $1.1 billion Zika funding package was approved by Senate and House Republican Conferees. Important components of the Zika funding package for the structural pest management industry included:

  • $476,000,000 in funds will be made available directly to CDC through September 2017 to prevent, prepare for and respond to Zika virus and other vector-borne diseases (this will include mosquito control)
  • Within 30 days of enacting into law, the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services is required to detail plans on how the funds will be allocated and/or made available to those that need additional resources.
  • Public-private partnerships are authorized with these funds
  • NPDES Permits for mosquito control treatments are suspended for 180 days for those entities authorized/certified to perform mosquito treatments within their state.
Unfortunately, in the current hyper-partisan environment, the Zika funding package includes funding mechanism that would defund portions of Obamacare and Planned Parenthood. The measure failed 52-48 in a procedural vote that needed the support of 60 senators to advance. The House has adjourned for the 4th of July recess until July 5. NPMA will use this additional time to push for stronger language supporting mosquito control and to lengthen the NPDES permit suspension or eliminate NPDES permits entirely.

 

White Releases Pollinator Partnership Action Plan

 

Last week, the White House released its Pollinator Partnership Action Plan (PPAP), which responds to the President’s emphasis on public-private partnerships and coordinating efforts to protect pollinators throughout the nation. This plan is very much consistent with the President’s national strategy to protect pollinators, released by his task force last May. The plan highlights:

  • Pollinator Protection Plans (MP3s) for every state
  • Providing additional land for foraging on public and private property
  • Better and more pollinator research
  • Developing and promoting Best Management Practices (BMPs)
From the onset of the development of the pollinator task force in 2014, NPMA has been very engaged on pollinator health and the structural pest management industry. We will continue to work with Federal and State officials and NPMA members on issues concerning pollinator health.  

 


Upcoming Events


Click on a date below for more information

 

July 13 - AZPPO Board Meeting

 

July 14 - AZPPO Annual Meeting Phoenix

 

July 14 Certification Training - CORE and I&I

 

July 15 Certification Training - WDO and O&T

 

August 10 - AZPPO Board Meeting

 

August 11 - AZPPO Phoenix Monthly Meeting

 

August 18 Certification Training - CORE and I&I

 

August 19 Certification Training - WDO and O&T

 

March 28-30, 2017 Great Western Conference & Trade Show

 

 

See our website for more information www.azzpo.org


Allied Member Directory

The following companies provide support to the industry and are members of AZPPO. 

 

ADAPCO Gale Jirik: gjirik@myadapco.com

 

Affordable GPS Tracking Victor Krstec: 623-328-8906 victor@agps1.com

 

Allergry Technologies Patty Maslowski: 215-654-0880; service@allergytechnologies.com

 

All Risks Pam Brunges: 800-366-5810 x3610 pbrunges@allrisks.com 

 

AP&G Scott Baldwin 480-760-5874 sbaldwin@catchmasterpro.com

 

Arizona Spray Equipment Samuel Andrus: 623-847-5604; critter@azspray

 

B&G Equipment Company John Cotton: 714-319-4422; jcotton@bgeuip.com

 

BASF Pest Control Solutions Ronnie Holder: 713-294-7628; ronald.holder@basf.com

Bayer Environmental Dave Braness: 408-205-8917; david.braness@bayer.com

Bell Laboratories, Inc. Patrick Lynch: plynch@belllabs.com

Bird Barrier Andy Srejic andy.srejic@birdbarrier.com

 

Bird X Josh Peirce josh@bird-x.com

 

Bird-B-Gone, Inc Mike Dougherty 949-472-3116 mike@birdbgone.com

 

Business Broker T.J. Hammer T.J. Hammer: 480-540-5005; Tjhammers@aol.com

 

Central Life Sciences Blaine Oakeson: 801-731-8210 boakeson@central.com

 

Chemtech Supply, Inc. Jack McClure: 480-833-7578; jack@chemtechsupply.com

Cintas Ana Baus bausa@cintas.com

 

Diversified Sales & Marketing Larry Hiner: 918-695-6742 lhiner@divsales.com

 

Dow AgroSciences Les Johnson: 480-759-9120; lljohnson2@dow.com

 

Earnhardt Auto Group Jim McGuire: 480-763-6133; jmac@earnhardt.com

 

Fleetmatics  David Stevens: 847-378-7393 david.stevens@fleetmatics.com

 

FMC Professional Solutions Alea Pedroza: 714-833-1911 alea.pedroza@fmc.com

Gervase Law Firm, PLLC Lisa Gervase: 480-515-4801; lgervase@gervaselaw.com 

HR Wise Greg O'Keefe: 480-636-2109 payroll@hrwisellc.com

 

J.T. Eaton Co., Inc. James Rodriguez: 800-321-3421; james@jteaton.com

Kness Mike Goza: 951-318-4951  mike@kness.com

 

Marathon Data Systems Danielle Panichi events@marathondata.com

 

Mattress Safe Gary Brooks gary@mattresssafe.com

 

Metro Institute Michael Means: 602-452-2901; mike@metroinstitute.com

MGK Matt Kenney: 559.232.8696; matt.kenney@mgk.com

 

Michael S. Herrmann Insurance Agency, Inc. Mike Herrmann: 480-731-6600; mike@mikeherrmann.net


Mobile Training Solutions Linda Harrington 520-419-9575 linda@mobiletrainingsolutions.net

 

Modern Methods Art Guzman guzzer60@gmail.com

 

Nature-Cide Gregory Pettis: 818-885-9874 nish@pac-sh.com

 

Pestmaster Services Jeff Van Diepen: 775-858-7378 jlechler@pestmaster.com

 

Pestmate David Frost david.frost@enexolutions.com 

 

PestRoutes Jared Green 435-817-1770 jared@pestroutes.com

 

PestWest Environmental James Shaffer: 941-358-1983; james.shaffer@pestwest.com

 

Quality Equipment & Spray Andrew Greess: 602-371-1993; andrew@qspray.com

RC Auto Robert Ross: 623-434-1100; bob@meandmyrc.com

 

Residex Ada Wilson: 480-322-2211 awilson@residex.com

 

Service Pro.net Randy Hames: 614-553-0227 randy@servsuite.net

 

Short Stack Software Derrick Walker: 801-616-6182 dwalker@shortstack.me

 

Slingshot Chris Huntsman: 801-203-4643 chris@getslingshot.com

 

SW Cage Ed Schintler southwestcage@yahoo.com

 

Syngenta Professional Nick Grisafe: 909-353-5907; nick.grisafe@syngenta.com

Target Specialty Products Kurt Smith: 480-517-0755; kurt.smith@target-specialty.com
Salena Rafferty: salena.rafferty@target-specialty.com, Ruth Leo: ruth.leo@target-specialty.com


The Mahoney Group Joe Steiner: 480-214-2746 jsteiner@mahoneygroup.com

 

Turf & Pest Supply David Crandell: 602-369-6137 dave@turfandpest.com

 

Tx3 Tech LLC Jason Clow jasonclow@tx3tech.com

 

Univar USA Inc. Ed Conboy: 520-747-8717; Ed.Conboy@univarusa.com Christy Davie: 480-894-5323; christy.davie@univarusa.com  Jackie Bell: 602-233-2440 jackie.bell@univarusa.com

 

Weisburger Insurance Brokerage Gary Shapiro: 800-431-2794; info@weisburger.com

 


AzPPO PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002  |  azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com  | 602-712-1121 #4

This email was sent to: tracy@azcapitolconsulting.com

This email was sent by:
Arizona Pest Professional Organization
PO Box 13116
Phoenix, Arizona 85002

Guaranteed Unsubscribe if you would like not to receive future emails from Arizona Pest Professional Organization.

Report as Spam if this email has been sent to you without your permission.

Logo