‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 
To view this email as a web page, go here.


2015 September Newsletter

 

 

 

 

 

Inside this issue:

2016 Conference

 

Charity Bowling Event

  

Industry News

 

Upcoming Events

  

Allied Member Directory

 

Welcome 

Fall is here and AZPPO is as busy as ever!

  • The 2016 Conference Committee is hard at work setting up a fantastic event
  • The Tucson Chapter is up and running, and we are working on setting up a River Chapter as well
  • In the Phoenix area, we are expanding our monthly meeting program 
  • The legislative committee continues to follow issues important to our industry
  • AZPPO launched a new Facebook page
  • The date is set for our 4th Annual Bugs 'N Balls Golf Tournament benefiting the Industry Defense Fund
  • The Pests Professional Who Care has a fun social event planned for later this year that will benefit Ronald McDonald House and the Jack Root Scholarship Fund
  • We are conducting monthly certification training courses

Read more about some of these activities below.

 

And as always, don't forget the valuable membership benefits you receive from AZPPO and NPMA through your joint membership. If you haven't joined, or have let your membership lapse, please join or renew today! Visit www.azppo.org to enroll.

 

NPMA Benefit Spotlight:

Sign in to your profile at http://my.npmapestworld.org/home for more information.

 

For more information about AZPPO member benefits, click here.
For more information about NPMA member benefits, click here.

  

AzPPO the Voice of Industry


Save the Date!

 

More details including pricing, extra events and registration will be available soon HERE.



 


 

Be Sure To Visit and Like Our New Facebook Page 

  

https://www.facebook.com/AZPPO

 


Industry News

Help US Urge Congress to Stop Drastic Overtime Changes

Act now and join those voicing concerns with the Department of Labor's (DOL) dramatic overtime proposal that could cost jobs and decrease room for advancement in workplaces across the country. The comment period for the DOL's proposed rule closed on Friday September 4, 2015 and it is time to tell Congress that we need legislative action to stop this rule from going into effect as proposed! The proposal, which alters the white collar exemptions under the Fair Labor Standards Act, includes raising the minimum salary threshold to $50,440 annually ($970 weekly) - an unprecedented 113% increase. This increase will result in limited workplace flexibility and increased labor costs for businesses across the country.

 

The department is considering indexing the minimum salary in order to automatically raise the salary threshold on an annual basis, rather than increasing the salary itself through the proper notice-and-comment rulemaking process.

 

Act now - Join thousands of Americans and send a letter to your elected officials in Congress asking them to support legislative action that stops DOL's unworkable proposed overtime rule. By clicking on the link below you can quickly send a letter to your Congressional Representatives concerning this important issue.

 

Urge Congress to Stop Overtime Increases

 

Over 400 letters have already been sent, but we need more! If you have already submitted letters to your Congressional representatives, please forward this link to others in your organization.

 

FDA Releases Final Rules Strengthening National Food Safety Requirements

On September 10, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration released final rules: The Preventive Controls for Human Food rule and Preventive Controls for Animal Food rule. The rules were statutorily mandated through the passage of the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) signed into law in January 2011. FSMA is a broad initiative to overhaul the national food supply system in an effort to strengthen food safety through increased accountability, oversight and preventative measures. The rules released on September 10 require all registered food facilities to maintain a food safety plan, perform a hazard analysis and institute preventive controls and verify these preventive controls are properly working. Non-compliance with these new rules can lead to hefty fines and lengthy injunctions. The new rules highlight the value of proper pest management within food facilities, and our industry's continued effort to provide these valuable services.

 

Bedbug Movement Throughout Apartment Buildings

Bedbugs (Cimex lectularius) can be extremely difficult to control in multifamily housing buildings due to their propensity to move from one apartment into neighboring units. A trio of Rutgers University researchers, Drs. Richard Cooper, Changlu Wang, and Narinderpal Singh, investigated bed bug movement within and between apartments to see how far bedbugs moved in this setting. Using a well-established monitoring technique, bedbugs were marked non-invasively, released in 6 apartments and captured to determine how far they traveled from their original apartment. Marked bed bugs were found in neighboring units in 5 out of the 6 apartments where bedbugs were originally released. The second component of the study was to determine how long bedbugs survived in a vacant apartment (without a host). At the conclusion of the study (155 days), adult bedbugs were still found alive, though early instar nymphs died after 134 days. The larger the initial population, the longer bedbugs were able to survive in the absence of bloodmeals.

 

This paper was published in the most recent volume of the journal PLoS ONE under the title, “Mark-release-recapture reveals extensive movement of bedbugs (Cimex lectularius L.) within and between apartments.”


Upcoming Events


Click on a date below for more information

September 28 Certification Training
 - Wood Destroying Organisms and Ornamental & Turf

 

September 29 Certification Training - CORE and Industrial & Institutional

 

October 8 AZPPO Monthly Meeting Phoenix

 

October 14 AZPPO Board Meeting

 

October 14 AZPPO Allied Committee Meeting

 

October 15 AZPPO Monthly Meeting Tucson

October 20-23 Pestworld Nashville 

 

October 29 Certification Training - CORE and Industrial & Institutional

 

October 30 Certification Training - Wood Destroying Organisms and Ornamental & Turf

 

November 7 Pest Professionals Who Care Bowling Night

 

March 28-20, 2016 AZPPO Great Western Conference

 

May 27, 2016 4th Annual Bugs 'N Balls Golf Tournament 

 

See our website for more information www.azzpo.org


Allied Member Directory

The following companies provide support to the industry and are members of AZPPO. 

 

ADAPCO Gale Jirik gjirik@myadapco.com

 

Affordable GPS Tracking Victor Krstec: 623-328-8906 victor@agps1.com

 

Allergry Technologies Patty Maslowski: 215-654-0880; service@allergytechnologies.com

 

AP&G Jackie Bell: 480-760-5874 jbell@catchmasterpro.com 

 

B&G Equipment Company John Cotton: 714-319-4422; jcotton@bgeuip.com

 

BASF Pest Control Solutions Ronnie Holder: 713-294-7628; ronald.holder@basf.com

Bayer Environmental Dave Braness: 408-205-8917; david.braness@bayer.com

Bell Laboratories, Inc. Jeremy Davis: 574-361-5058; jdavis@belllabs.com

Bird Barrier Andy Srejic andy.srejic@birdbarrier.com

 

Bird X Josh Peirce josh@bird-x.com

 

Bird-B-Gone, Inc Mike Dougherty mike@birdbgone.com

 

Business Broker T.J. Hammer T.J. Hammer: 480-540-5005; Tjhammers@aol.com

 

Chemtech Supplies, Inc. Jack McClure: 480-833-7578; jack@chemtechsupply.com

Cintas Ana Baus bausa@cintas.com

 

Dow AgroSciences Les Johnson: 480-759-9120; lljohnson2@dow.com

 

FMC Professional Solutions David Torska: 480-330-0383 ; david.torska@fmc.com Dean Johnson: 951-595-5829; dean.k.johnson@fmc.com

Gervase Law Firm, PLLC Lisa Gervase: 480-515-4801; lgervase@gervaselaw.com 

J.T. Eaton Co., Inc. James Rodriguez: 800-321-3421; james@jteaton.com

Kness Mike Goza  mike@kness.com

 

Marathon Data Systems Danielle Panichi events@marathondata.com

 

Mattress Safe Gary Brooks gary@mattresssafe.com

 

Metro Institute Michael Means: 602-452-2901; mike@metroinstitute.com

Michael S. Herrmann Insurance Agency, Inc. Mike Herrmann: 480-731-6600; mike@mikeherrmann.net

Mobile Training Solutions Linda Harrington linda@mobiletrainingsolutions.net

 

Modern Methods Art Guzman guzzer60@gmail.com

 

Pestmate David Frost david.frost@enexolutions.com  

 

PestWest Environmental Scott Baldwin : 480-747-2688; info@pestwest.com

Quality Equipment & Spray Andrew Greess: 602-371-1993; andrew@qspray.com

SW Cage Ed Schintler southwestcage@yahoo.com

 

Syngenta Professional Nick Grisafe: 909-353-5907; nick.grisafe@syngenta.com

Target Specialty Products Kurt Smith: 480-517-0755; kurt.smith@target-specialty.com
Salena Rafferty: salena.rafferty@target-specialty.com, Ruth Leo: ruth.leo@target-specialty.com


Turf & Pest Supply David Crandell: 602-369-6137 dave@turfandpest.com

 

Tx3 Tech LLC Jason Clow jasonclow@tx3tech.com

 

Univar USA Inc. Ed Conboy: 520-747-8717; Ed.Conboy@univarusa.com Christy Davie: 480-894-5323; christy.davie@univarusa.com  Carlos Montejano: 602-3174-1187; Carlos.Montejano@univarusa.com

 

Weisburger Insurance Brokerage Gary Shapiro: 800-431-2794; info@weisburger.com

 


AzPPO PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002  |  azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com  | 602-343-6277

This email was sent to: azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com

This email was sent by:
Arizona Pest Professional Organization
PO Box 13116
Phoenix, Arizona 85002

Guaranteed Unsubscribe if you would like not to receive future emails from Arizona Pest Professional Organization.

Report as Spam if this email has been sent to you without your permission.

Logo