‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 
To view this email as a web page, go here.


2016 July Newsletter

 

 

 

 

Inside this issue:

 

2017 Conference

 

Industry News

 

Upcoming Events

  

Allied Member Directory

 

Welcome 

JOIN OR RENEW TODAY AND SUPPORT YOUR INDUSTRY THROUGH MEMBERSHIP!

 

AzPPO members can take advantage of a long list of benefits and services that not only keep you current on industry issues, regulations and trends, but can also save you money!

 

These programs include:

Regulatory Advocacy – AZPPO continually works very closely with the Office of Pest Management (OPM) to stay informed about activities and provide AZPPO members with up-to-date information.

 

 

Legislative Advocacy – AZPPO has contracted with the National Pest Management Association (NPMA) and Capitol Consulting to review and monitor every bill introduced into legislation at the state and federal level for its potential impact on Arizona’s pest management professionals.

 

Timely Information & Education -

  • Monthly e-Newsletter
  • Weekly e-Pestworld news
Expert advice on inspection reporting, pest applications, state mandated information, reporting requirements, CE requirements, OSHA requirements and MORE!  
Annual Conference & Trade Show
Ongoing statewide public relations programs!
AZPPO “Members Only” Website
  • Specialized continuing education 

Money Saving Discount Programs for Members:

  • Insurance Programs
  • Gasoline Programs
  • Office Supply Discounts
  • Background Verification Services
  • UPS Freight
  • Human Resources Services
  • Fleet Management 
  • Other Allied Member Services

Membership period is July 1 - June 30

 
 



AZPPO is excited to announce our Keynote Speakers will be Dr. Dini Miller and Paul Bello! We are working on other fantastic speakers to round out the 2-day educational conference.

 

Vendor and Sponsor Registrations are now open. Educational class registration will open soon. Save the date and look for more information to come on our website http://azppo.org/Conference 

 

Industry News

Zika Update

 

After months of urging Congress to take action to combat the spread of the Zika Virus, Congress left for an extended summer recess without any action. On Thursday H.R. 2577, the Appropriations Package that included $1.1 billion in funding for the Zika Virus, failed to overcome a procedural hurdle (52-44). The measure had previously passed the House of Representatives but needed Senate approval to be sent to President Obama’s desk. Both President Obama and Senate Democrats publically stated they would not approve the current Zika funding measure as presented due to political components of the package including: defunding parts of Obamacare, defunding Planned Parenthood and a controversial confederate flag provision.

 

After the failed vote top Republican appropriators from both chambers sent a letter to President Obama urging the Secretary of Health and Human services to use their transfer authority of funds and reappropriate fiscal year 2016 funds for the Zika virus.

 

Also sending a letter to the President this week was Representative Bob Gibbs (R-OH), the sponsor of NPDES eliminating legislation, the Zika Vector Control Act H.R. 897. Rep. Gibbs sent a letter that urges the President to end a double standard and give the continental United States the same tools, deemed “the most important tool” by EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy. The letter cited a recent advisory from the heads of EPA and CDC that encouraged Puerto Ricans to spray more pesticides to slow the spread of the Zika virus. NPMA continues to support Rep. Gibbs and other Congressional offices that continue to highlight the burdens of NPDES permits.

 

NPMA is disappointed that a final deal could not be reached but we are continuing to highlight the importance of pest management in combatting the Zika virus. During the summer recess NPMA will continue to work with state regulators and other industry allies to encourage funding through the appropriations process once Congress returns in September.

 

Reasonable Overtime Legislation Introduced to Phase-in Threshold Increase

 

Last week Congressman Kurt Schrader (OR-5), Congressman Jim Cooper (TN-5), Congressman Henry Cuellar (TX-28) and Congressman Collin Peterson (MN-7) introduced the Overtime Reform and Enhancement Act, legislation that will initiate a three-year phase-in of the Department of Labor’s new overtime rule, which would reach the Department of Labor’s proposed $47,476 in 2019. The legislation also eliminates the automatic three-year increase to the salary threshold established under the new rule. The bill recognizes that future administrations can and should update the overtime rules, as they are required to under the Fair Labor Standards Act, but limits the ability of the DOL to update the rules on autopilot. This will allow stakeholders to comment on proposed changes and require the DOL to ensure the rules are working as intended.

The annual increases under the bill are:

December 1, 2016 -- $35,984 ($692 per week)

December 1, 2017 -- $39,780 ($765 per week)

December 1, 2018 -- $43,628 ($839 per week)

December 1, 2019 -- $47,476 ($913 per week)

 

NPMA has issued a letter in support of this legislation and will begin using the NPMA grassroots network and in-district office visits with key legislators to support this reasonable compromise.

 

NPMA participated in a meeting with the Partnership to Protect Workplace Opportunity (PPWO), a broad coalition working together to stop the implementation of the Department of Labor’s final Overtime rule. The PPWO will also be issuing a letter in support and encouraging grassroots support.

 


Upcoming Events


Click on a date below for more information

 

August 10 - AZPPO Board Meeting

 

August 11 - AZPPO Phoenix Monthly Meeting

 

August 11 - AZPPO Tucson Monthly Meeting

 

August 18 Certification Training - CORE and I&I

 

August 19 Certification Training - WDO and O&T

 

September 8 - AZPPO Phoenix Monthly Meeting

 

September 14 - AZPPO Board Meeting

 

September 15 Certification Training - CORE and I&I

 

September 16 Certification Training - WDO and O&T

 

November 17 Top the Night of at Top Golf

 

March 28-30, 2017 Great Western Conference & Trade Show

 

 

See our website for more information www.azzpo.org


Allied Member Directory

The following companies provide support to the industry and are members of AZPPO. 

 

ADAPCO Gale Jirik: gjirik@myadapco.com

 

Affordable GPS Tracking Victor Krstec: 623-328-8906 victor@agps1.com

 

Allergry Technologies Patty Maslowski: 215-654-0880; service@allergytechnologies.com

 

All Risks Pam Brunges: 800-366-5810 x3610 pbrunges@allrisks.com 

 

AP&G Scott Baldwin 480-760-5874 sbaldwin@catchmasterpro.com

 

Arizona Spray Equipment Samuel Andrus: 623-847-5604; critter@azspray

 

B&G Equipment Company John Cotton: 714-319-4422; jcotton@bgeuip.com

 

BASF Pest Control Solutions Ronnie Holder: 713-294-7628; ronald.holder@basf.com

Bayer Environmental Dave Braness: 408-205-8917; david.braness@bayer.com

Bell Laboratories, Inc. Patrick Lynch: plynch@belllabs.com

Bird Barrier Andy Srejic andy.srejic@birdbarrier.com

 

Bird X Josh Peirce josh@bird-x.com

 

Bird-B-Gone, Inc Mike Dougherty 949-472-3116 mike@birdbgone.com

 

Business Broker T.J. Hammer T.J. Hammer: 480-540-5005; Tjhammers@aol.com

 

Central Life Sciences Blaine Oakeson: 801-731-8210 boakeson@central.com

 

Chemtech Supply, Inc. Jack McClure: 480-833-7578; jack@chemtechsupply.com

Cintas Ana Baus bausa@cintas.com

 

Diversified Sales & Marketing Larry Hiner: 918-695-6742 lhiner@divsales.com

 

Dow AgroSciences Les Johnson: 480-759-9120; lljohnson2@dow.com

 

Earnhardt Auto Group Jim McGuire: 480-763-6133; jmac@earnhardt.com

 

Fleetmatics  David Stevens: 847-378-7393 david.stevens@fleetmatics.com

 

FMC Professional Solutions Alea Pedroza: 714-833-1911 alea.pedroza@fmc.com

Gervase Law Firm, PLLC Lisa Gervase: 480-515-4801; lgervase@gervaselaw.com 

HR Wise Greg O'Keefe: 480-636-2109 payroll@hrwisellc.com

 

J.T. Eaton Co., Inc. James Rodriguez: 800-321-3421; james@jteaton.com

Kness Mike Goza: 951-318-4951  mike@kness.com

 

Marathon Data Systems Danielle Panichi events@marathondata.com

 

Mattress Safe Gary Brooks gary@mattresssafe.com

 

Metro Institute Michael Means: 602-452-2901; mike@metroinstitute.com

MGK Matt Kenney: 559.232.8696; matt.kenney@mgk.com

 

Michael S. Herrmann Insurance Agency, Inc. Mike Herrmann: 480-731-6600; mike@mikeherrmann.net


Mobile Training Solutions Linda Harrington 520-419-9575 linda@mobiletrainingsolutions.net

 

Modern Methods Art Guzman guzzer60@gmail.com

 

Nature-Cide Gregory Pettis: 818-885-9874 nish@pac-sh.com

 

Pestmaster Services Jeff Van Diepen: 775-858-7378 jlechler@pestmaster.com

 

Pestmate David Frost david.frost@enexolutions.com 

 

PestRoutes Jared Green 435-817-1770 jared@pestroutes.com

 

PestWest Environmental James Shaffer: 941-358-1983; james.shaffer@pestwest.com

 

Quality Equipment & Spray Andrew Greess: 602-371-1993; andrew@qspray.com

RC Auto Robert Ross: 623-434-1100; bob@meandmyrc.com

 

Residex Ada Wilson: 480-322-2211 awilson@residex.com

 

Service Pro.net Randy Hames: 614-553-0227 randy@servsuite.net

 

Short Stack Software Derrick Walker: 801-616-6182 dwalker@shortstack.me

 

Slingshot Chris Huntsman: 801-203-4643 chris@getslingshot.com

 

SW Cage Ed Schintler southwestcage@yahoo.com

 

Syngenta Professional Nick Grisafe: 909-353-5907; nick.grisafe@syngenta.com

Target Specialty Products Kurt Smith: 480-517-0755; kurt.smith@target-specialty.com
Salena Rafferty: salena.rafferty@target-specialty.com, Ruth Leo: ruth.leo@target-specialty.com


The Mahoney Group Joe Steiner: 480-214-2746 jsteiner@mahoneygroup.com

 

Turf & Pest Supply David Crandell: 602-369-6137 dave@turfandpest.com

 

Tx3 Tech LLC Jason Clow jasonclow@tx3tech.com

 

Univar USA Inc. Ed Conboy: 520-747-8717; Ed.Conboy@univarusa.com Christy Davie: 480-894-5323; christy.davie@univarusa.com  Jackie Bell: 602-233-2440 jackie.bell@univarusa.com

 

Weisburger Insurance Brokerage Gary Shapiro: 800-431-2794; info@weisburger.com

 


AzPPO PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002  |  azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com  | 602-712-1121 #4

This email was sent to: tracy@azcapitolconsulting.com

This email was sent by:
Arizona Pest Professional Organization
PO Box 13116
Phoenix, Arizona 85002

Guaranteed Unsubscribe if you would like not to receive future emails from Arizona Pest Professional Organization.

Report as Spam if this email has been sent to you without your permission.

Logo