‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 
To view this email as a web page, go here.


2016 October Newsletter

 

 

 

 

Inside this issue:

 

2017 Conference

 

Industry News

 

Termite Control

 

Upcoming Events

  

Allied Member Directory

 

Welcome 

Wow, 2016 is quickly winding down. We have a few meetings and events yet this year you won't want to miss.

 

On November 10th we are bringing in a consultant from Google to help business owners make the most of their websites. In this day it is difficult to keep up with technology, Joshua Ramsey will provide some very helpful information. Register HERE.

  

Don't forget to register for our November 17th event at Top Golf in Scottsdale. This will be a lot of fun and profits will go to help fund our Industry Defense. Sponsorships are still available as well.  Click HERE for more information and to register.  

 

If you have some technicians in need of licensing test preparation, don't forget AZPPO offers monthly training with an actual PERSON doing the training. We have teamed up with Linda Harrington of Mobile Training Solutions to provide classes in CORE, I&I, T&O and WDO. Information and links to specific classes can be found HERE.

 

As always, your membership is valuable - not only to you through all of the local and national benefits members receive, but also to our Industry as a whole. The more members we represent, the more influence we can have when trying to influence public policy affecting our businesses. So if you haven't joined or renewed, DO SO TODAY!

 

 
 
 
 



AZPPO is excited to announce our Keynote Speakers will be Dr. Dini Miller and Paul Bello! We are working on other fantastic speakers to round out the 2-day educational conference.

 

Vendor and Sponsor Registrations are now open.

 

Educational class registration will open soon. We have submitted and are currently awaiting continuing education course approvals from the states of AZ, NM, CA, NV, UT.

 

Save the date and look for more information to come on our website  http://azppo.org/Conference 

 

Termite Control with Peace of Mind in Arizona

By Ronnie Holder A.C.E. and Dr. Freder Medina, B.C.E.

In late September as the monsoon rains draw to a close, moisture is present in the soil, soil temperatures decrease, ambient air temperatures decrease and “BINGO” we have our most active time of the year for subterranean termites.

 

Arizona is a little different than any other parts of the country as it relates to termite activity, termite pressure, and termite control. While the rest of the country is thinking about Halloween, Thanksgiving and snow, we are slugging it out with what we believe to be the most difficult subterranean termite species to control in the country, Heterotermes aureus…the Desert Subterranean Termite.

 

Although their colony numbers are smaller when compared to other species, ranging from 50,000 to 300,000, these little buggers cause multiple headaches for Pest Management Professionals (PMP) across the Desert Southwest. Dr. Paul Baker (retired) from the University of Arizona has noted as many as 12 different Heterotermes sp. colonies in a single acre of land, making Arizona structures subject to some of the highest termite pressure in the country. Along with this, these termites can travel the length of a football field in search of food sources. And to top it all off, Heterotermes sp. are very cryptic by nature, just a minor disturbance will cause the workers to abruptly move and seek out other food sources and shelter. They can show up 20 feet away from their original entry point through a shelter tube coming down from the room’s ceiling or down an interior wall. According to Ronnie Holder, BASF senior sales representative in AZ, other subterranean termite species such as Eastern Subterranean, Western Subterranean, and even Formosan Subterranean termites are easier to control that Heterotermes sp.

 

Based on the facts on controlling Desert Subterranean Termites Dr. Medina and Ronnie Holder have come up with a list of Best Practices to help PMPs provide the best termite control program in the valley. 

 

Inspections: must be thorough, including the attic, technicians must inspect low and above eye level, around... Read the complete article HERE.

 

  

 

 

 


Industry News

The Next Zika - Four insect–and tick-borne viruses that you may not have heard about are now worrying researchers

Disease detectives are on the lookout for obscure viruses that can be spread among people by traveling insects, and quickly become a widespread problem. Scientific papers are filled with illnesses to watch. Four particular viruses now stand out to virologists and epidemiologists, although it is not certain any of the ailments will become the next Zika or West Nile virus. But researchers give several reasons to keep a close eye on... more HERE

  

From NPMA

Have You Downloaded the NPMA Field Guide App? Available for $4.99 for both iOS and Android devices, the Field Guide App, powered by eNex, offers users an easy way to access information on over 200 different structural pests, with high resolution photos and charts for confident identification. Download yours today! Just visit the App Store or Google Play and search for "NPMA Mobile Field Guide."

 

Also, as a membership benefit, NPMA has developed a gallery of pest images at My.NPMAPestWorld.org for use by NPMA members.


Upcoming Events


Click on a date below for more information

 

November 9 - AZPPO Board Meeting

 

November 17 Certification Training - CORE and I&I

 

November 18 Certification Training - WDO and O&T

 

November 17 Top the Night Off at Top Golf

 

March 28-30, 2017 Great Western Conference & Trade Show

 

May 26, 2017 Bugs N Balls Golf Tournament

 

 

See our website for more information www.azzpo.org


Allied Member Directory

The following companies provide support to the industry and are members of AZPPO. 

 

Affordable GPS Tracking Victor Krstec: 623-328-8906 victor@agps1.com

 

Allergy Technologies Patty Maslowski: 215-654-0880; service@allergytechnologies.com

 

All Risks Pam Brunges: 800-366-5810 x3610 pbrunges@allrisks.com 

 

AP&G Scott Baldwin 480-760-5874 sbaldwin@catchmasterpro.com

 

Arizona Spray Equipment Samuel Andrus: 623-847-5604; critter@azspray

 

B&G Equipment Company John Cotton: 714-319-4422; jcotton@bgeuip.com

 

BASF Pest Control Solutions Ronnie Holder: 713-294-7628; ronald.holder@basf.com

Bayer Environmental Eric Paysen: 602-245-3659; eric.paysen@bayer.com

Bell Laboratories, Inc. Patrick Lynch: plynch@belllabs.com
 

BrioStack Software DerrickWalker: 801-616-6182 dwalker@shortstack.me

 

Business Broker T.J. Hammer T.J. Hammer: 480-540-5005; Tjhammers@aol.com

 

Central Life Sciences Blaine Oakeson: 801-731-8210 boakeson@central.com

 

Chemtech Supply, Inc. Jack McClure: 480-833-7578; jack@chemtechsupply.com

Control Solutions Inc  Rob Ives: 713-203-4058; rives@controlsolutionsinc.com     

 

Diversified Sales & Marketing Larry Hiner: 918-695-6742 lhiner@divsales.com

 

Dow AgroSciences Les Johnson: 480-759-9120; lljohnson2@dow.com

  

Fleetmatics  David Stevens: 847-378-7393 david.stevens@fleetmatics.com

 

FMC Professional Solutions Alea Pedroza: 714-833-1911 alea.pedroza@fmc.com

Gervase Law Firm, PLLC Lisa Gervase: 480-515-4801; lgervase@gervaselaw.com 

HR Wise Greg O'Keefe: 480-636-2109 payroll@hrwisellc.com

 

J.T. Eaton Co., Inc. James Rodriguez: 800-321-3421; james@jteaton.com

 

LiphaTech Joshua Joyce: 714-262-0355: joycej@liphatech.com  

 

Marathon Data Systems Danielle Panichi events@marathondata.com

 

Mattress Safe Gary Brooks gary@mattresssafe.com

 

Metro Institute Michael Means: 602-452-2901; mike@metroinstitute.com

MGK Matt Kenney: 559.232.8696; matt.kenney@mgk.com

 

Michael S. Herrmann Insurance Agency, Inc. Mike Herrmann: 480-731-6600; mike@mikeherrmann.net


Mobile Training Solutions Linda Harrington 520-419-9575 linda@mobiletrainingsolutions.net

 

Modern Methods Art Guzman guzzer60@gmail.com

 

Nature-Cide Gregory Pettis: 818-885-9874 nish@pac-sh.com

 

Pestmaster Services Jeff Van Diepen: 775-858-7378 jlechler@pestmaster.com

 

PestRoutes Jared Green 435-817-1770 jared@pestroutes.com

  

Quality Equipment & Spray Andrew Greess: 602-371-1993; andrew@qspray.com
 

Residex Ada Wilson: 480-322-2211 awilson@residex.com

 

Service Pro.net Randy Hames: 614-553-0227 randy@servsuite.net

  

Slingshot Chris Huntsman: 801-203-4643 chris@getslingshot.com

 

Syngenta Professional Nick Grisafe: 909-353-5907; nick.grisafe@syngenta.com

Target Specialty Products Kurt Smith: 480-517-0755; kurt.smith@target-specialty.com
Salena Rafferty: salena.rafferty@target-specialty.com, Ruth Leo: ruth.leo@target-specialty.com


The Mahoney Group Joe Steiner: 480-214-2746 jsteiner@mahoneygroup.com

 

Turf & Pest Supply David Crandell: 602-369-6137 dave@turfandpest.com

 

Univar USA Inc. Ed Conboy: 520-747-8717; Ed.Conboy@univarusa.com Christy Davie: 480-894-5323; christy.davie@univarusa.com  Jackie Bell: 602-233-2440 jackie.bell@univarusa.com

 

Weisburger Insurance Brokerage Gary Shapiro: 800-431-2794; info@weisburger.com

 


AzPPO PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002  |  azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com  | 602-712-1121 #4

This email was sent to: azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com

This email was sent by:
Arizona Pest Professional Organization
PO Box 13116
Phoenix, Arizona 85002

Guaranteed Unsubscribe if you would like not to receive future emails from Arizona Pest Professional Organization.

Report as Spam if this email has been sent to you without your permission.

Logo