‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ 
To view this email as a web page, go here.


2015 May Newsletter

 

 

 

 

 

Inside this issue:

Core Training

2016 Conference


Industry News

Upcoming Events

Allied Member Directory

 

Dear Pest Control Industry Professionals,

 

Just a friendly reminder that you have through Monday to renew your OPM credential without late fees. All credentials can be renewed on-line via “MyOPM for Individuals” or “My OPM for Businesses”. If you have not received your renewal or cannot log on, you need to contact the OPM office immediately at 602-542-3578. For a list of the 312 out of 400 returned renewals due to the address no longer being valid see:
opm.azda.gov/Assets/PDFDocuments/2016_Returned_Renewal_List.pdf.  

 

The White House Task Force recently released its Pollinator Plan. In a nutshell, the National Strategy to Promote the Health of Honey bees and Other Pollinators revealed no big surprises. In fact, with regard to protecting pollinators from exposure to pesticides, the EPA highlighted the importance of pesticides for the protection of food supplies and human health and underscored the importance of balancing the benefits with risks by keeping beneficial pollinators and pesticides separated in both time and space. Based on the information available at this time, the restrictions anticipated from EPA should not have an immediate direct impact on structural applications. Further federal action during the registration process and the creation and implantation of state pollinator action plans will continue to be a priority of NPMA and our membership. Policy Staff will remain actively engaged at the federal and state level to further support and protect the structural pest management industry and defend PMP product uses. For full coverage on the National Strategy to Promote Pollinator Health please see the following links:

• Read the White House press release HERE

• Read the National Strategy to Promote Pollinator Health HERE

• Read the Pollinator Research Action Plan HERE

• Read Pollinator-Friendly Best Management Practices for Federal Lands HERE

• Read the Appendices to the National Strategy HERE

 

  

AzPPO the Voice of Industry


 

 

2016 Conference

March 28-30


Industry News

 

Final Clean Water Rule Released: Defines “Waters of the U.S.”;

 

On Wednesday May 27, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and the Army Corps of Engineers released the final Clean Water rule (final rule).

 

Overview

The final rule broadly defines waters of the U.S. (WOTUS) and expands those waters that fall within the federal government’s regulatory jurisdiction pursuant to the Clean Water Act (CWA). The proposed rule was first published in the Federal Register in April 2014 for public comment, which, after two extensions, closed in November 2014. The final rule will go into effect 60 days after the final rule is published.

 

However, Since Wednesday’s release of the final rule, several high-ranking Congressional leaders have publically denounced the rule as executive overreach and demanded Congressional action to halt the implementation. Congressional disapproval has been predominantly lead by the Republican majority, but several Democrats in both the Senate and House have recently expressed disapproval of the final rule. Legislation has been introduced in both the House and Senate to address the final rule. The President would most likely veto any of the above bills if they reached his desk, and without stronger bipartisan support it may be difficult to get the 2/3 majority to override the President’s veto.

 

How this Effects PMPs

The rule undoubtedly expands the definition of WOTUS which expands regulatory oversight and burdens on industry. NPMA does not support regulations that potentially limit PMP tools, increase burdens or consume resources. That being said, NPMA does not anticipate that the final rule will have a significant impact on PMPs. NPMA is closely monitoring, analyzing and working with industry coalitions and federal and state agencies to better interpret the new definition of WOTUS and to ensure that the current national pollutant discharge elimination system (NPDES) permitting, which has a minimal impact on PMPs, remains the same.

 

Currently, NPDES permits are required for the application of residual pesticides directly to waters of the U.S. to prevent mosquitos and flying insects. Increased reporting requirements for applications are generally only triggered after applications directly to WOTUS exceeds the 6400 acre annual threshold. The definition of WOTUS has expanded, but the traditional practices of PMPs have not changed. The final rule does not change the NPDES permitting, which will continue to enable the application of pesticides directly to waters, while FIFRA remains the dominant regulatory authority for the application of pesticides.

 

NPMA’s Next Steps

• Continue to analyze the final rule

• Work with an industry coalition to change the final rule

• Support Congressional action to change the final rule

• Communicate with Federal and State agencies to obtain further clarity and express PMP concerns

• Provide final guidance to NPMA members prior to the 60 day implementation date

• Provide additional guidance and resources to NPMA members concerning NPDES permits 

 

 

 

EPA Proposed Rule: Pesticide Label Restrictions to Protect Managed Bees

On Friday May 29, 2015 the EPA published a proposal to mitigate exposure to managed bees from pesticide products from foliar applications. The EPA’s proposal would prohibit the foliar application of acutely toxic products (neonicotinoids) during bloom for locations with bees on-site and under contract. Current neonicotinoid product labels contain a 48 hour notice exception, which will be removed from the label. This proposal was detailed in the President’s National Strategy to Promote the Health of Honey Bees and Other Pollinators released last week. The proposal is very limited to foliar applications when managed pollinators are on the property under contract. NPMA will be submitting comments within the 30 day timeline allotted by the EPA.

 

OSHA: June 1, 2015 HazCom - 2012 Deadline, Transition from MSDS to SDS

As of June 1, the Hazard Communication Standard will require chemical manufacturers, distributors and importers to provide safety data sheets (SDS). Chemical manufacturers and importers are required to have transitioned from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) to the globally harmonized SDS. OSHA published guidance on the transition and compliance with the June 1, 2015 deadline. OSHA recognizes that in certain situations the transition will not be 100% complete and have requested that all manufacturers and importers make “good faith efforts” and act with “reasonable diligence” in transitioning to SDS.

 

PMP’s should begin to see more SDS, but should remain flexible and document training materials that train employees on both MSDS and SDS sheets. NPMA will continue to monitor guidance from OSHA, specifically concerning users of chemicals and will update the OSHA toolbox with necessary documents and guidance.


Upcoming Events

 

June 10 AZPPO Board Meeting

 

June 11  AZPPO Monthly Membership Meeting Tucson 

 

June 29-30 Bedbug Central 

 

June 29 CORE Training

 

June 30 CORE Training

 

July 8 AZPPO Board Meeting

 

July 9 AZPPO Annual Meeting

 

July 15-17 NPMA Academy Las Vegas

 

July 29 CORE Training

 

July 30 CORE Training

 

October 20-23 Pestworld Nashville

 

See our website for more information www.azzpo.org


Allied Member Directory

The following companies provide support to the industry and are members of AZPPO. 

 

ADAPCO Gale Jirik gjirik@myadapco.com

 

Affordable GPS Tracking Victor Krstec: 623-328-8906; victor@agps1.com

Allergry Technologies Joseph Latino: 215-654-0880; service@allergytechnologies.com

 

AP& G Jackie Bell: 480-760-5874; jbell@catchmasterpro.com

 

Arizona Spray Equipment Samuel Andrus: 623-842-4000; sandurs@azspray.com

 

B&G Equipment Company John Cotton: 714-319-4422; jcotton@bgeuip.com

 

BASF Pest Control Solutions Ronnie Holder: 713-294-7628; ronald.holder@basf.com

Bayer Environmental Dave Braness: 408-205-8917; david.braness@bayer.com

Bell Laboratories, Inc. Jeremy Davis: 574-361-5058; jdavis@belllabs.com

Bird Barrier Andy Srejic andy.srejic@birdbarrier.com

 

Bird X Josh Peirce josh@bird-x.com

 

Bird-B-Gone, Inc Mike Dougherty mike@birdbgone.com

 

Business Broker T.J. Hammer T.J. Hammer: 480-540-5005; Tjhammers@aol.com

 

Chemtech Supplies, Inc. Jack McClure: 480-833-7578; jack@chemtechsupply.com

Cintas Ana Baus bausa@cintas.com

 

Control Solutions, Inc. (CSI) Rob Ives: 713-203-4058; rives@ControlSolutions.com Allison Muggli: 281-892-2500; amuggli@controlsolutionsinc.com

CrimShield, Inc. Dave Pickron: 888-422-2547; dave@crimsheild.com Scot Aubrey: 888-422-2547; scot@crimshield.com

 

Dow AgroSciences Les Johnson: 480-759-9120; lljohnson2@dow.com

Earnhardt Auto Group Jim McGuire: 480-763-6133; jmac@earnhardt.com

Epic Insurance Michael Glauser michael.glauser@epicbrokers.com

 

Fleetmatics Chris Daywalt: 623-241-9531; chris.daywalt@fleetmatics.com

FMC Professional Solutions David Torska: 480-330-0383 ; david.torska@fmc.com Dean Johnson: 951-595-5829; dean.k.johnson@fmc.com

Gervase Law Firm, PLLC Lisa Gervase: 480-515-4801; lgervase@gervaselaw.com

Helena Chemical Rob Deacon: 602-278-0143; deaconr@helenachemical.com

J.T. Eaton Co., Inc. James Rodriguez: 800-321-3421; james@jteaton.com

Kness Mike Goza  mike@kness.com

 

Marathon Data Systems Danielle Panichi events@marathondata.com

 

Mattress Safe Gary Brooks gary@mattresssafe.com

 

Metro Institute Michael Means: 602-452-2901; mike@metroinstitute.com

 

MGK Matt Kenney: 800-352-5548; matt.kenney@mgk.com

Michael S. Herrmann Insurance Agency, Inc. Mike Herrmann: 480-731-6600; mike@mikeherrmann.net

Mobile Training Solutions Linda Harrington linda@mobiletrainingsolutions.net

 

Modern Methods Art Guzman guzzer60@gmail.com

 

Pestmate David Frost  david.frost@enexsolutions.com

 

PestWest Environmental Scott Baldwin : 480-747-2688; info@pestwest.com

Quality Equipment & Spray Andrew Greess: 602-371-1993; andrew@qspray.com

SW Cage Ed Schintler southwestcage@yahoo.com

 

Syngenta Professional Nick Grisafe: 909-353-5907; nick.grisafe@syngenta.com

Target Specialty Products Kurt Smith: 480-517-0755; kurt.smith@target-specialty.com
Salena Rafferty: salena.rafferty@target-specialty.com, Ruth Leo: ruth.leo@target-specialty.com


Turf & Pest Supplies Dave Crandell: 602-369-6137; dgcrandell@yahoo.com

Tx3 Tech LLC Jason Clow jasonclow@tx3tech.com

 

Univar USA Inc. Ed Conboy: 520-747-8717; Ed.Conboy@univarusa.com Christy Davie: 480-894-5323; christy.davie@univarusa.com  Carlos Montejano: 602-3174-1187; Carlos.Montejano@univarusa.com

 

Weisburger Insurance Brokerage Gary Shapiro: 800-431-2794; info@weisburger.com

 


AzPPO PO Box 13116, Phoenix, AZ 85002  |  azppo@azcapitolconsulting.com  | 602-343-6277

This email was sent to: tracy@azcapitolconsulting.com

This email was sent by:
Arizona Pest Professional Organization
PO Box 13116
Phoenix, Arizona 85002

Guaranteed Unsubscribe if you would like not to receive future emails from Arizona Pest Professional Organization.

Report as Spam if this email has been sent to you without your permission.

Logo